Blogger’s Quilt Festival

Amy's Creative Side
 
Friday was the beginning of the Blogger’s Quilt Festival hosted by Amy on Amy’s Creative Side. I know this has gone on a couple of years and this year I thought I’d share the story of one of the first quilts I’ve made.
 
 
Here’s a quilt I made for a friend of mine who’s son and daughter in law were expecting thier first baby (back in 2009 I think). This friend was a new friend at work and I’ve never met her son, daughter in law or even the baby who recieved the quilt. Oh, and did I mention, my friend’s son and daughter-in law were stationed in Germany at the time? Interesting, huh? I only knew they wanted sage green, aqua and brown for their little girl’s nursery and I happened to have a charm pack with those exact colors. I also knew her name would be Bailey. So after getting approval from the future grandma I put together this simple design. The center was some really soft brushed cotton I had purchased as a remnant at my favorite quilt shop. I also did something I NEVER do, I HAND appliqued those letters and the butterflies to the center. Mostly when I was waiting in the car before my marriage counseling appointments and when I watched TV waiting for my husband to come home. Here’s a close up of the butterfly. Oh and the quilting.
 

Funny thing about that quilting. It’s the first time I EVER machine quilted ANYTHING that wasn’t just for practice. And I had no real idea what I was doing. But it was done with love for the thought of this little child that would have this quilt. Even though I’ve never met her, and now she’s almost 3 and has a little sister. Here’s a close up of the border.

The best part was that my friend, the grandma, was able to take this quilt and hand deliver it to the new parents in Germany. I had it finished in time to send with her when she went to visit. And here’s the funny thing, the daughter in law wanted to hang it on the wall and not let the baby near it. I told grandma “no way” to that! I said it’s meant for her to play with and drag around and love on and if it gets raggedy and worn out, that’s fine. That’s what I made it for. I hope she’s still loving it as much as I loved making that quilt for the little stranger.

I’m so glad that I decided to participate in the Blogger’s Quilt Festival. This post has been a really nice walk down memory lane. Now I can’t wait to go read some other posts and see some other awesome quilts!

Happy Stitches,

Anna

Comments

  1. What a sweet quilt and story, Anna! Thanks so much for sharing!!

  2. LOve your story,beautiful colours for a first quilt.

  3. Lovely story, and very sweet quilt. I adore the butterflies!

  4. Wow this is SO CUTE! I absolutely love it. Great job!

    Emily

    Content Marketing Solutions

  5. Penny G says:

    I love the colors and design of this quilt. I am so glad it is not an art quilt, the huggly snuggly quilts are so much better in my opinion.

  6. This is a gorgeous baby quilt. Love the colours and butterflies. It looks great!

Leave a comment