Something Fun: Fabric Flowers

There are a ton of fabric flower tutorials all around the Interwebs. One of my favorites is the Pink Suede Shoes Scrap Flower Tutorial. (If you have a favorite, please share!) I guess when I thought of making mine, I had her tute in mind but I think so much comes from all the places I see these that I just kinda played with it until I got what I really liked. A tip, if you like that scrappy, frayed look, cut a little notch in the selvage of your fabric and tear/rip it along the grain. That will give you a great frayed look. Oh, the ones in the picture are ones I made “on the fly” and I added a little bling with my neat-o cordless i-rock tool (which is also called a hot fix wand but I think that name might be copyrighted.) Of course, it helps to have a urban studio with old ledges where I can take rockin’ pictures. By the way, since I made these and I have a little extra fabric left (HA) I’ve also listed them on my Etsy shop in case you would like to buy one for your mom for mother’s day and just don’t want to risk the hot glue burn (ouch!) But if you’d prefer to make one and you actually live in San Antonio, TX I am offering a little Make n Take on May 1st, the cost of the class includes the supplies to make a flower! You can click here to register for that MnT. I’ll leave you with a little picture of my favorite model (sorry, Lily wasn’t available, she’s busy playing).

Happy Stitches,

Anna

