Quick and Easy Binding Technique

I have to admit, when it comes to binding a quilt, it is NOT my favorite thing to do. In fact, I think for most quilters, it’s their LEAST favorite thing. Maybe it’s the fear of having to miter the pieces to make one continuous strip, or maybe it’s the annoying (to me at least) idea of having to HAND STITCH the binding to the back of the quilt. Most quilters will tell you that they will sew the binding to the front of the quilt on the machine, and then fold it over and hand stitch it on the back while they watch TV. Well, I don’t have a TV. And I really think I have better things to do with my time besides hand stitch binding. Also, when I make quilts, I expect them to be loved, used, messed up and WASHED and I want the binding that holds the edge of the quilt in to LAST. I have a quilt my grandmother made and she had it machine quilted, but she hand sewed the binding (both front and back) and I have to admit that I have washed it in the washing machine and the binding is now coming off. (Please refrain from the lectures about washing a quilt in the machine, I used the gentle cycle) OK, so I don’t want to rant about the differences, to each their own, and FOR SURE a quilt with machine sewn binding will NEVER be “show worthy” at least not a show that is judged. But that’s OK because none of those quilts I make will ever be entered into a show. They will be given away to people who want and need them. NOW, to the good stuff. While I was using my nifty Bias Tape maker to make my second binding in TWO DAYS I thought “I should really do a tutorial on this” but guess what? Lindsay Conner (and Mary ) over at Craft Buds had that brilliant idea first!! So HERE is their tutorial which is JUST as good as anything I could have done (or even better).  Click the image to view the tutorial on their blog.

I really love it when great minds think alike!! Thanks for sharing that Craft Buds! So, if you’d like to PRE ORDER one of those nifty bias tape makers (I used the 1″ size), please let me know by e-mailing me.

So tell me, what is your preference when doing binding? (Or do you have a fabulous friend who does all your binding for you?)

Happy Stitches,

Anna

Comments

  1. Thanks for the link! I like the new blog look and cute header! I noticed that the banner bias tape link is not working though.

Leave a Reply

