What can I do with a Jelly Roll?

 
Click to go shopping
 You might remember this post announcing that May is Jelly Roll Madness month at Crafty Girls Workshop and ALL my Jelly Rolls are only $25! And you may have looked at the shop and seen those pretty jelly rolls (precut 2 1/2″ strips) all rolled up and wondered “What the heck to do I DO with one of those?” Well, today is your lucky day because that’s exactly what I’m going to share with you!

I think the best thing about Jelly Rolls is that they are a fairly inexpensive way to get a little bit of ALL the 42 fabrics in one fabric line. Plus, because each strip is 2 1/2″ wide by about 42″ long, you are getting about 3 yards of fabric in one roll! And, of course, all the fabrics coordinate beautifully since they are all from the same line. Now, here’s my biggest word of advice when you buy ANY precut fabrics, always buy a yard or two of coordinating yardage. Want to know why? Well, most people will buy jelly rolls or other precuts to make into beautiful quilts for their family, friends, or even themselves. But sometimes the inspiration to purchase the JR is there and the idea of what to make comes later, sometimes, years later! And I know that it’s not absolutely the LAW that the backing of a quilt MATCH the front with fabric from that same line, but it’s always nice to have that option when it comes time to make a backing. Plus, if you don’t use the yardage you bought for the back, you can always use it to make coordinating pillowcases or a tote bag or even a cute quilted bag to put the quilt in! (Have you seen any of those at Wal-Mart recently? I noticed they started selling quilts by Better Homes and Gardens and they are being sold in the CUTEST quilted tote bags!) Sorry, I may digress a little here. As a fabric shop  owner, when I buy precut fabrics, I usually buy a few bolts of coordinating yardage. I want my customers to have the option for borders and backing and even binding when they are ready to finish their quilts. And even though I would LOVE to buy all 42 fabrics in one line, my budget usually only limits me to 3 or 4 bolts.

OK, now you’d probably like for me to STOP rambling and get to the suggestions for

WHAT TO DO WITH A JELLY ROLL

Click image to buy pattern

This is one of my favorite patterns that uses a Jelly Roll (it also uses 2 charm packs and has a larger size option that uses a layer cake and a jelly roll). It’s called Sugar Free by Threaded Pear Studios. Even though this is the “smaller” size of the two included in the pattern, it’s actually a very nice size quilt. It went together REALLY fast because most of the cutting of fabric was DONE (the MAJOR advantage of using any pre-cut fabrics). Of course, as you can see in my sample, I used some fabric from the Figgy Pudding line that came out 2 or 3 years ago, and it’s still a quilt TOP because I’ve struggled with what to do for the BACK since I didn’t buy any yardage of this fabric when I had the chance! (Somehow ended up with 2 charm packs, a jelly roll, layer cake AND honey bun but no yardage!) I still love it and can’t wait to make up a sample using my FAVORITE fabric line which is Sugar Pop.

 
OR maybe you’re going to a quilt retreat soon and you’d like something fun to do with all the ladies at the retreat. Why not bring one of your NEW jelly rolls you just got for only $25 and participate in the Jelly Roll 1600 like the SA Modern Quilt Guild did?
 
 
The winner of our JR1600 won a FREE JR from Crafty Girls Workshop and quilting and batting from Nacho Mama’s Quilt!
 
 
Of course, you can always just buy them and let them make your shelves in your fabric/sewing room look pretty too!
 
Lastly, I wanted to suggest that you hop over to the great blog called Moda Bake Shop. Yes, this is a blog that is coordinated by Moda because they are the company who produces coordinating precuts (charm packs, jelly rolls and layer cakes) with ALL their fabric lines, but the posts are patterns written by MANY different people. Someday I hope I’ll write a pattern on there too. Moda Bake Shop is a GREAT resource for FREE patterns for all the precuts and you can even search based on the precut you want to use.
 
 
Well, that’s it for now, I hope this has been helpful and that you now have a little better idea of what to make with one of those beautiful jelly rolls!
 
Happy Stitches,
Anna
P.S. Don’t forget to enter the giveaway for FREE PDF Patterns from the Crochet Diva shop! Just visit this post to enter.
Comments

  1. Thanks for the post! This is exactly what I was looking for…..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers